A Minnesota felony DWI can have a serious impact on your future. Not only are jail time and large fines involved, but a conviction could result in you having to participate in alcohol education, alcohol treatment programs, house arrest, community service, and probation. These are simply the legal consequences. The personal consequences of having a felony conviction on your record can result in you having difficulty finding a place to live, having reduced earnings capacity, never being able to work in a job where a clean driving record is required, difficulty obtaining insurance, and even issues with acquiring loans or going back to school to further your education.
To fight the Minnesota felony DWI charges against you, you need a Minnesota DWI “Super Lawyer” by your side from the time you are charged until your case reaches a conclusion. The goal is to evaluate every fact in your case so that those facts can be used to create a solid defense that will result in case dismissal or a reduction in charges. I have won a number of outright dismissals in Minnesota felony DWI cases. I have also obtained reduced charges which result in lesser penalties allowing a person to move on with their life
Minnesota Statute 169A.24 subdivision 1 outlines the penalties of a first-degree DWI, (Minnesota Felony DWI) which is designated by 169A.24 subdivision 2 as a felony. A felony in Minnesota is defined as a crime that may constitute a prison term of one year or more. Minnesota law says that a person guilty of felony DWI may be subject to the following penalties:
- Imprisonment of up to 7 years,
- A fine of $14,000
For the charge to be first-degree DWI, one or more aggravating factors must be present. They include three or more qualified DWI offenses within the past 10 years, previous felony DWI conviction, previous felony conviction of criminal vehicular homicide in which controlled substances or alcohol was involved.
Felony DWI Sentencing Guidelines
When being sentenced for a Minnesota felony DWI after a conviction, the judge has a set of guidelines that he or she follows. For instance, the sentence must not be less than three years. The execution of the sentence may be stayed, however so it is important that your Minnesota DWI lawyer fights these charges as aggressively as possible so that the sentence will be stayed. The mandatory penalties for a non-felony offender must be applied, which can still involve jail time and high fines.
Contact Minnesota DWI Lawyer F. T. Sessoms:
Being convicted of a felony DWI is very serious and can follow you for the rest of your life. To achieve case dismissal or a reduction in the charges and penalties, you need the support of an experienced attorney. Call Minnesota DWI Lawyer F.T. Sessoms today at 612-344-1505 and start your defense today.
Frequently asked question:
While there are a number of aggravating factors which can turn a misdemeanor DWI into a gross misdemeanor, a DWI can be a felony in Minnesota only if the person acquires four DWIs within 10 years or is arrested for DWI and has a prior Minnesota DWI felony record or has been previously convicted of felony criminal vehicular operation or homicide.